Popcorn Group and BBC Writersroom announce committee and long-list for writing award

POPCORN Group have introduced this yr’s judging committee together with their long-list of courageous and imaginative new performs for the Popcorn Writing Award. 

Partnering for the primary time with BBC Writersroom, Popcorn gives a prize fund of £6,000. 

Opening the door for rising writers, BBC Writersroom are studying all the longlisted performs and members of the BBC Drama Commissioning staff will provide invaluable one-to-one conferences with every of the playwrights. 

Names judging the award this yr embody Bridgerton’s Luke Thompson, Olivier Award-winning producer Francesca Moody MBE and globally celebrated portrait artist Jonathan Yeo.

Judges at this years awards. High row, left to proper: Francesca Moody, Jonathan Yeo, Luke Thompson, Lydia Leonard Backside row, left to proper: Charlotte Colbert, Jack Rooke, Nainita Desai. Picture equipped with launch by Chloe Nelkin consulting.

The Edinburgh Pageant Fringe has confirmed itself very important for launching the careers of up-and-coming expertise within the arts, having been a springboard for the likes of Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Emma Thompson, Alan Rickman and Rachel Weisz. 

After two years of cancellations and setbacks, the Fringe has returned this yr, bringing theatre again to the forefront of the competition circuit. 

The Popcorn Writing Award performs an enormous half in making heard new voices within the arts, from all around the world.

The Popcorn Award 2022 longlisted performs are: 

  • Assisted by Greg Wilkinson, The Area UK
  • Blanket Ban by Davinia Hamilton & Marta Vella, Underbelly
  • Breathless by Laura Horton, Pleasance
  • BROWN BOYS SWIM by Karim Khan, Pleasance
  • CASTEING by Nicole Acquah, Summerhall
  • Cassie and the Lights by Alex Howarth, Underbelly
  • Daddy Points by Anna Krauze, Pleasance
  • Godot is a Girl by Silent Faces, Pleasance
  • Comfortable Meal by Tabby Lamb, Traverse
  • Methods to Construct a Wax Determine by Isabella Waldron, Meeting
  • Take a look at Me, Don’t Take a look at Me by Rash Sprint, Pleasance
  • Manic Road Creature by Maimuna Memon, Summerhall
  • Poles: The Science of Magnetic Attraction by Amelia Pitcher, Pleasance
  • Ruckus by Jenna Fincken, Summerhall
  • Browsing the Holyland by Erin Hunter, Underbelly
  • Svengali by Eve Nicol, Pleasance
  • The Beatles Have been a Boyband by Rachel O’Regan, Gilded Balloon
  • The Mistake by Michael Mears, The Area UK
  • Who Murdered My Cat by Roann Hassani McCloskey, Meeting
  • You’re Protected Til 2024: Deep Historical past by David Finnigan, Pleasance
See also  Brie-illiant information: Scots cheesemaker wins huge at two main award competitions

The winners will likely be introduced at a ceremony on Thursday twenty fifth August at The Gilded Balloon Library Bar. 

Jess Loveland, Head of New Writing commented: “BBC Writersroom are delighted to be partnering with the Popcorn Writing Award for the primary time on this thrilling yr for the Edinburgh Pageant Fringe. 

“It has been an actual privilege for the Writersroom staff to learn the longlisted performs and immerse ourselves within the work of those proficient rising voices. 

“We’re trying ahead to returning to Edinburgh this month and seeing the writers’ phrases dropped at life on stage.” 

Popcorn Group added: “We’re thrilled to be again with the Popcorn Award this yr and to have the ability to champion these great rising writers bringing their distinctive voices to the Edinburgh Fringe Pageant.”